top of page
  • Writer's pictureKatrina J. Daroff

Ocean Shores

How to be a Tourist in your hometown.

I only know how to dance as a follow but this is a picture of me trying to teach a friend how to follow because I really just wanted to dance on the beach. (Photo Credit to my Friend Alique)

I'm going to be honest with you, I am a California girl at heart. It is coded in my genetics. I am ALL about the beach and summer clothes and the smell of the ocean. I hate being landlocked. Living in Utah for several years was the hardest thing I have ever done, I was too far from the ocean. Which is why I love Ocean Shores.


Now, there are some people I know, particularly others who have formative memories of San Diego and LA beaches who like to tell me that Ocean Shores is not a beach, it is a place where the ocean meets the land. Well, all I have to say to them is, "shut up, nobody asked you!" Ocean Shores may be a windy beach, it may be a cold beach (please note the sweatshirts in the above photo), it is still a beach and it is wonderful. Ocean Shores is a little beach town who's economy is almost exclusively built on kite sales and ice cream. You can go over to the beach and park there (for free) to enjoy your ice cream, fly a kite, and then maybe ride some horse or rent a dune buggy. It isn't a tanning beach, it is an adventure beach. I think it is magical, which is why I love to go out there with my friends during retreats at camp (the camp I am involved with is about 13 minutes away). I love it, it feels magical to be out in the sea air, even when it is chilly.


If you haven't been out there then, what are you waiting for? Summer is almost over! You need to go bury your feet in the sand and the salt water.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page