top of page
  • Writer's pictureKatrina J. Daroff

Grays Harbor Lighthouse

How to be a Tourist in your Hometown... or your home state.

I have always wanted to live in a lighthouse. My dream home. I have it all planned out. My reading room will be in the top level where the light is. I'll put in a nice comfy chair and make it into a beautiful spot to drink coffee and read and watch the ocean do ocean things. That is... it was my dream home, until I had the opportunity to climb to the top of a light house.


By the way, did you know that Westport has a lighthouse AND you can climb to the top of it. It is way cool. I was in Westport to visit a friend back in June and we were on our way to the beach, all of us being pretty big beach enthusiasts when I nearly slammed on the brakes. "THAT'S A LIGHTHOUSE! CAN WE GO TO THE LIGHTHOUSE?" Generally speaking, I think that spontaneity is terribly inconvenient but... it WAS a lighthouse.


"Sure. There's a museum in it and you can climb to the top for like five bucks."


And it turns out that climbing to the top of a lighthouse is kind of exhausting and there isn't a lot of space up there if you leave the big light in. I'll just have to come up with a new dream home.


It is still super cool. I will spare you the historic details because I know you are going to go take the tour but I will tell you that it is super cool. From the top you can see way out into the ocean, over the trees that have grown up around it, and there were all sorts of tidbits of information about how lighthouses work. Amazing. Next time you are in Westport, or the surrounding area, you should definitely check it out.



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page