top of page
  • Writer's pictureKatrina J. Daroff

Knee High Stocking Co

Seattle Speakeasy.

I never really cared much for bars. I mean, I was excited when I turned 21 and was able to go to bars and drink… legally… but just going out to a bar and drinking is not my jam. I end up sitting there, bored, wondering why I’m paying this much for a drink that I can make at home. I just don’t see the appeal. I do, however, see the appeal of time travel. Drinking absinthe and pretending Hemmingway could walk through the door at any moment is exactly the kind of pretentious hipster nonsense that I get excited about. That is why I get excited about speakeasies and the Seattle speak easy scene.

Pencils and paper, class, let’s begin.


During the prohibition era, when alcohol was not permitted in the United States, there were illicit establishments that secretly served it called speakeasies, or blind tigers on occasion. Now we use the term to describe trendy, exclusive, retro bars that mimic the speakeasies of the 20s. And I LOVE it.

My favorite speak easy is the Kneehigh Stocking Company, so appropriately located on the corner of Olive and Olive in Capitol Hill. I say appropriately located there because it makes it extremely difficult to describe where it is to someone who doesn’t know and makes it kind of difficult to find. Established in 2008 it is one of the oldest such establishments in the Seattle area.


I love Kneehigh Stocking for a couple of reasons. First it is a little hard to find because it is just a door with a bell at the corner of a building but after you ring the bell and speak the password (hint, the password is, “I have a reservation under (insert name here).”) you step in to a lovely, somewhat ketch, 1920s parlor with dim light and cocktails served in crystal teacups. I remember the first time I went there with some friends, their drinks were brought out in classic champagne glasses and then the waitress turned and apologized to me, “we’re all out of champagne glasses,” and handed me a teacup on a saucer. I was not mad about it.


Kneehigh Stocking Co is also a quiet bar where you can talk with the friends you brought along, it would be silly for a bar hiding from raids to be loud, and they specifically ask their patrons to not take any flash photography and not bring anyone that you wouldn’t be comfortable bringing to brunch with your great-grandmother. My great-grandmother was a debutante, so you’d better behave yourself. That gives Kneehigh Stocking Co a relaxed quiet feeling that really allows you to just enjoy the atmosphere and your friends.


So, if you like time travel, cleverly named drinks, and quiet comfortable spaces go find Kneehigh Stocking Co and ring the bell.


Kneehigh Stocking Company

1356 East Olive Way

Seattle Washington 98122

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


Les commentaires ont été désactivés.
bottom of page