top of page
  • Writer's pictureKatrina J. Daroff

I Can’t Write A Poem About Camp

I wrote the following poem for Camp Bethel. Which I have attended and worked at since I was 9 years old. In 2012 we lost our main lodge to a fire and in 2019 we opened our new lodge. This is what I read at our building dedication.


Dedicated to God and my wonderful friends at Camp Bethel, I am honored to call you family.


I Can’t Write A Poem About Camp


There isn’t a right word

To describe the shades of green

And gold

That fill the forest

When we gather to worship

Under rafters made from pine needles.


There is no description

That captures the warmth

Of friendships that burn bright against the chilling winds

Of time and distance,

When we find ourselves together

By the fireside.


I cannot truly explain

The sensation of laughter

That bubbles out before the joke is told.

How do you put words to the feeling

Of watching trees grow tall

And children becoming leaders?


Words do not capture

The poetry of some places.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


Los comentarios se han desactivado.
bottom of page