top of page
  • Writer's pictureKatrina J. Daroff

Gasworks Park Seattle

Seattle is a strange place.

I cannot think of anywhere else I have been that would look at an old gasworks refinery and say, "we should have a park here." I can't. It's a weird thing to do.


Although, I did think it was weirder before I went because I thought the industrial stuff was all open to the public and that that was what the park was (I got that impression from the film !0 Things I Hate About You, which it is featured in).


I was wrong, there are fences all around the actual gasworks part and it is not used as play equipment for the children (they are missing a valuable opportunity but whatever). Instead it is a beautiful green space in the middle of the city the comes right up to the Puget Sound.


There is a hill you can sit on and watch the boats and paddle boarders, or fly kites. Really, it is just the weirdest, cutest, park I have ever been to. I don't know what else to say about it other than you should check it out. Bring your kite because it is perfect for kite flying.

36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page