top of page
  • Writer's pictureKatrina J. Daroff

You Really Should Be Traveling with an Instant Camera

Updated: Jan 4, 2021


I have never been in love but if it is anything like how I feel about my Instax Mini 9 then I want to be.


I had almost forgotten that instant cameras like Polaroids existed until one of my childhood friends brought her Instax Mini 8 along to a reunion at the local amusement park. As quickly as the film developed my love for this camera developed.


By the end of the summer I had purchased my own lime green Instax and was ready to pack it into my purse with all the rest of my adventure gear and take it everywhere I went. My first foray into using my new toy was my friend Amy's wedding; a hiking wedding that happened to be on the hottest day of the year. As soon as Amy stepped out onto the trail in her wedding dress, yes you did read that correctly, my Instax was out and ready to take pictures.


I immediately found that the pictures I took had a beautiful filtered quality that my phone did not capture. I also found that everyone who saw the picture pop out of this thing that looked like a toy wanted to see the snapshot and hold it. There is an excitement around immediately holding the image. Your moment becomes real and not just an image on a screen. The people around me picked up on that energy. As soon as they realized this obnoxious green thing in my hand was a tool for artistry and not a toy they wanted to see it and know what I planned on doing with the pictures that I was stowing in a small pocket in my bag. It turns out my new camera was the perfect accessory for a wedding but it was also the exact right thing to take on the hike.


Where can you use an instant camera (there are a few options on the market these day)? Just about anywhere, within reason.

- Hiking. The instax mini 9 is the largest of all the mini models but it is still compact enough to fit in my little hiking bag with plenty of room for my water bottle and snacks. Plus the images you capture will delight your hiking buddies. Then you get to put them up on your wall, which I think is the best part. They don't get lost in your camera roll or the relentless news feed of social media.

-The Beach. Be aware that no instant camera is water proof. End of discussion! There is no protective case you can buy that will make your instant camera water proof. Sand is also the enemy of most technology, especially cameras. However, if you are careful you can get some amazing shots at the beach. I love the way the water looks on an instant snapshot, there is something so magical about it. Taking care to use my wrist strap to avoid dropping it and to stow my camera and pictures when not in use I have taken my instax to beaches all across the west coast. All the way from LA to looking across the Straits to Canada, with no problems.

-Amusement Parks. I will never pay for a novelty shot of me and my friends on a ride again. Not that I can say that is something I did before. The Polaroids I have taken have been just as fun much more personal feeling. If you are feeling especially intrepid I am sure you can take a picture while on the ride.

-Museums. Fair Warning, anything that is behind glass is not going to turn out, thanks to the flash that cannot be turned off on my camera. Still, there is nothing more satisfying than going through the pictures on my wall and coming across a dinosaur from my last trip to the science center. it makes me feel like a time traveler.

- Honestly any place you would take a regular camera. Instant photos add a fun artistic quality that you just don't get with an Instagram filter.


Why do you want to take your instant camera with you?


Do you remember when e-mail first became a thing and getting an email was so exciting and now you get 100 emails a day and you really enjoy the surprise of getting a card or letter in the mail? It is kind of like that.


Everybody says they are going to print pictures but do they? I used to keep files of photos I specifically wanted to print and it would still take me months to just get the flash drive to the store and print out those shots. An instant camera is the instant gratification of a digital camera but the image is in your hand an not stuck on a memory card.


Even more, it forces you to take time. I don't know about other brands but my camera only holds 10 shots at a time and I HATE wasting my film. Using my instax I can't take 3 or 4 shots of the same thing and post the best one. I have to slow down and take everything into account before snapping the shutter, and isn't travel about slowing down and really experiencing something? Using my instant camera forces me to be intentional with my shot. We unfortunately live in a society that does not always see the value in intentionality or in taking your time. Even, or maybe especially, in travel we have a tendency to go go go on to the next thing. Using an instant camera forces you to pause and take it in, even if it is just for a few extra seconds.


So, if you have any interest in travel and photography or being more intentional about you life and your art, as I do, you need to add an instant camera to your get away bag.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page