top of page
  • Writer's pictureKatrina J. Daroff

Old Habits

Updated: Jan 4, 2021


Old Habits die easier than we think… when replaced with new ones. I suppose that’s why rebound relationships are a thing. It is much easier to quit doing or even thinking about something when you fill up that space with something else.

In January I moved. I left my standard 9:00 to 5:00 office job and moved out to a summer camp near the coast in order to act as the director. It would shock you how quickly I stopped getting up at 7:00 AM and how fast my habit of groggily swigging burned coffee while organizing files at my desk fell away. Replaced, just like that by something new. Replaced by a leisurely pace of getting up when the morning called to me, actually it is 7:00 more often than you would think.

Instead I spend a few hours preparing for my day while drinking my coffee. I think and pray about the day ahead of me and the things that need to be done. Sometimes I turn on an audiobook and listen to a chapter, but most of the time I try to focus on one single thought or task as I complete it. Then, I walk to the river and pick up a stone to put in my bucket of stones for kids to paint in the summer.

It isn’t until 10:00 or 11:00 o’clock that I finally wander down the road to my office and start getting tasks done.

My old habits of rushing around an office for 8 hours and taking 15 minutes of my lunch break to circle the building a few times are completely gone. They have been replaced by these new ones. I do not get nearly as much done in a day, however, I think the things I get done are significantly more important.



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page