top of page
  • Writer's pictureKatrina J. Daroff

Notes on the Perpetually Single Girl


Now, before you start reading this, please understand that I am not talking about young women, teenage girls who seem to never have a date to the dance. I’m not writing about the girls who feel as though they are perpetually single and are just waiting for someone to take notice of them. I am talking about women in the late twenties or early thirties who just seem to be single.

I’m sure you know the type. These are the girls who show up to their friends’ weddings alone but don’t seem bothered by it. The girls who travel on their own or with their friends. The girls with big plans for their careers. You look at them and can’t actually pinpoint why these interesting and confident women cannot seem to get a boyfriend.

Those perpetually single girls.

I’m about to give away all of their secrets… well… maybe not all of them. Actually, I’m only going to give away one of their secrets. I know why theses intelligent, driven, young women are perpetually single.

The perpetually single girl is really just a girl with excessively high standards that have yet to be met. She is a girl who is comfortable on her own and therefore does not waste time with anyone she does not need. So, she is the kind of girl who is constantly testing everyone in her life to see if they meet those standards. I’m not saying that anyone is setting up situations to test their friends and gentleman callers. What she’s doing more is observing everyone around her and reaching conclusions on the kind of person you are based on the way you respond or speak to her and the people around her.

And, if you fail, they don’t give second chances.

I’m one of those “perpetually single girls.” Every interaction I have with a guy is an opportunity for him to fail and I don’t give second chances. That is literally the only reason I’m still single. And, I have had guys question why I’m rejecting them for something minor, like being a mansplaining jerk or looking for a girl who needs rescuing or the simple crime of giving me anxiety for a yet unidentified reason, when its not like there are a bunch of other guys lining up to take me out. The truth, the only reason is I don’t actually care. I’m a girl who is happier alone than with anyone who makes me uncomfortable for any reason. I would rather be alone than with someone who does not meet my absurdly high standards

That’s it. That’s the only secret.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page