top of page
  • Writer's pictureKatrina J. Daroff

Life in 3 Years (Part Two)


Describe what life will be like in 3 years if you don’t allow your bad habits to stop you.


Once, in a job interview, I was asked where I wanted to be in five years. I told the director, “oh… on an island that I own. Tanned. Rested. And alone. SURROUNDED BY ENORMOUS PILES OD MONEY!” Well, here I am more than five years later and I am none of those things. It turns out that private islands are very expensive and I don’t have even one enormous pile of money. I think I might be there in three years though.


Okay, serious talk though. I am terrible at these sorts of questions. I don’t have a five year plan, I don’t have a three year plan. I ran away from someone who asked what my plan was six months from now. I know what I am doing Monday, beyond that there is mostly darkness… there’s definitely dragons. That’s all I know.


There are, a few things I would like to accomplish in the next three years. I’d like to finish my novel series. I’d like to have big travel plans coming up. It would be nice if I had a boyfriend by then but that’s really just for the couples costume options it will open up. If I accomplish any of those things, I can tell you exactly what my life should look like.


I will be fabulously wealthy, having finally finished and published the novel series that, by then, I had worked on for ten years. It will be amazing. I’ll be on the best seller list and every time I walk into a room I will pick up my novel and say, “hey, have you heard of this cool new author? Oh wait, it’s me!” It will be obnoxious. That’s when I’ll buy and move to my private island where I can forget all of the little people. Of course, it will have to have its own airstrip for all of my fabulous travels on my private jet.


It’s going to be great.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page