top of page
  • Writer's pictureKatrina J. Daroff

Bigfoot, Love, and Other Made Up Things


I heard an urban legend the other day. A young women went out with some friends and met a guy. He was cute and smart and the two of them really got along. Then, all of a sudden, they exchanged numbers and started dating! That’s not even the crazy part though. They dated for a long time and actually fell in love!

It’s true. I know it sounds crazy, but I know a guy who knows a guy who swears it happened to his sister.


Of course, it could just be an urban legend.

I live in the Pacific Northwest. I actually do know a guy who knows a guy who saw big foot. Although, in Washington we call him Sasquatch. He’s an official resident of a little town on the border of Oregon and Washington and is considered an endangered species. If Big Foot is real and a legal resident of Washington state then I guess it makes sense that he is considered an invasive species in Texas and it is encouraged to shoot on sight.


In real life? Big Foot, Sasquatch, the Kushtakai, is probably a bear. A fantastical legend to explain what we cannot explain without daylight. A made up story to make a big tough guy who got scared of a running dear in the woods feel a little better. All of our fantastic urban legends can be explained that way. Yetti cries and fur are usually found to be snow leopards, the most elusive of the large cats. The Loch Ness Monster? I’m sure there was something in that lake.


We like to be able to scientifically explain away anything we might not understand. Intrepid explorers and scientists go out into the woods laden with camera equipment and tracking devices, only to emerge a few weeks later, saying “it was probably a bear.”


“Love is just a chemical reaction in our brains. It isn’t really real.” That’s why love goes away with time.


It is a lot harder to believe in something that is difficult to explain than to say that it was probably a bear. We fall out of love because it is just a chemical reaction in our brain it can wear off. It is a lot harder to say that I believe in something with almost no proof. I just believe. I know what I saw, I know what I felt. While I will definitely never believe Jesse who swears on everything he believes in that the big brown blur he saw lumbering through the woods from the backseat of his mom’s car in middle school was Big Foot, (Sasquatch… a Yetti… the Kushtakai… whatever) I do know what I felt sitting on a couch next to a boy I loved, I know what I have seen watching my friends and family go through their relationships, and I know that while some things cannot be explained they can be real.

I heard an urban legend the other day. A young women went out with some friends and met a guy. He was cute and smart and the two of them really got along. Then, all of a sudden, they exchanged numbers and started dating! That’s not even the crazy part though. They dated for a long time and actually fell in love!


No, really. It happened to my best friend, my parents, I saw it with my own two eyes.

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page